Advance Your Healthcare IT Technician Career

Ready to begin your career journey or have more questions? Connect with a Workforce Training Specialist today!
Field will not be visible to web visitor
Field will not be visible to web visitor
Field will not be visible to web visitor
Field will not be visible to web visitor
Field will not be visible to web visitor

24 Weeks

Certificate Length

CompTIA Network+, CompTIA A+ & CEHRS

Available Industry Certifications

What Does It Mean To Earn Your Industry Certification As A Healthcare IT Technician ?

Through the Healthcare IT Technician Certificate, you are eligible for 2 different tracks. One track includes the CompTIA Network+ certification (Net+) and the CompTIA A+ Certification while the other includes the CompTIA A+ Certification and the Certified Electronic Health Records Specialist (CEHRS) certification. 

To become certified, candidates must be 18 years of age and possess a high school diploma or equivalent.

healthcare IT tech working on the computer


The Net+ industry certification ensures individuals can:

  • Manage, maintain and troubleshoot a basic network infrastructure including using common ports and networking protocols.
  • Understand and use networking technologies, as well as basic network design principles.
  • Program, install and differentiate between common network devices.
  • Install and maintain both wired and wireless networks following standard protocols and using modern testing tools.
  • Troubleshoot performance issues.
  • Troubleshoot connectivity issues.
  • Support security on the network as well as set up controls and security for individual users.
  • Identify and explain common IT issues.

The CompTIA A+ industry certification ensures individuals can:

  • Understand the basics of technology, networking and IT security.
  • Understand operating systems and basic troubleshooting methodology.
  • Identify hardware and security components.
  • Understand best practices and be able to enact proper computer safety procedures.
  • Install, configure, maintain and upgrade PC workstations including Windows and SOHO networks.

The CEHRS industry certification ensures individuals can:

  • Understand and audit patient records to ensure they are compliant with legal and regulatory requirements.
  • Collect clinical information for various reports such as quality improvement studies.
  • Perform basic coding to submit claims for insurers.
  • Understand and review patients records to make sure they are complete and ensure proper collection of patient demographic and insurance information.


The National Healthcareer Association (NHA) is one of the largest allied health certification providers in the nation. Since 1989, it has awarded over one million certifications and is validated and nationally recognized as providing students with the required level of knowledge to succeed in their chosen career. It awards the CEHRS certification.

The Computing Technology Industry Association (CompTIA) is a leading voice for information technology training by awarding more than 2.5 million IT certifications. It is a huge proponent of industry growth and also offers memberships for individuals within IT fields.

The American Medical Certification Association (AMCA) was established in 2010 with the vision of implementing national standards to ensure each successful candidate has proven that they are knowledgeable in their given subject matter. AMCA is a member of various organizations to strengthen its’ ties to the medical industry. 

Select The Right Training Certificate For Your Goals

Healthcare IT Technician

The Healthcare IT Technician certificate is designed to prepare students for a career in health care focused on Information Technology (IT).


Picture of amanda lin

Amanda Lynn is your Workforce Training Specialist. She is here to help you understand your certificate of study, payment options and succeed! Get in touch with Amanda to learn more about your certificate, AdventHealth University and how to achieve your workforce development goals!


All courses and certification examinations are prepared and offered in English only. Special accommodations requesting translation services are not available for course participation or examination. Oral and written English proficiency is a requirement for course participation.

Interested In Another Workforce Development Certificate?

AdventHealth University is devoted to supporting you throughout your professional journey and believes learning is a lifelong endeavor. Our career development certificates provide leading-edge instruction and clinical training in high-demand fields, ensuring you will feel confident and competent as a certified professional.